to get service or not.. thats the question - Yamaha FZ-09 Forum
 2Likes
  • 2 Post By harrywz

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
post #1 of 7 Old 06-13-2014, 11:34 PM Thread Starter

to get service or not.. thats the question

Hey everyone, I just broke 1k on the 09. gone through two oil changes. Should i take it in for its first service? or can i just do it myself? Ive been riding dirt bikes for years now and i have some knowledge on how to do things. everything else is just a google away.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 06-14-2014, 02:58 PM

No. Unless you don't know what you're doing OR you have a ton of $$$.
post #3 of 7 Old 06-14-2014, 08:02 PM
Super Moderator

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matthew View Post
Hey everyone, I just broke 1k on the 09. gone through two oil changes. Should i take it in for its first service? or can i just do it myself? Ive been riding dirt bikes for years now and i have some knowledge on how to do things. everything else is just a google away.
What you do is buy your supplies from your Yamaha dealer and keep the receipts during the first year. This way you can prove that you have been using the proper oil and filter during the warranty period if you do your own oil changes.

post #4 of 7 Old 06-14-2014, 08:45 PM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by harrywz View Post
What you do is buy your supplies from your Yamaha dealer and keep the receipts during the first year. This way you can prove that you have been using the proper oil and filter during the warranty period if you do your own oil changes.
That's what I do. But what about coolant and other stuff they check during that check up.
post #5 of 7 Old 06-14-2014, 08:59 PM
Super Moderator

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matthew View Post
That's what I do. But what about coolant and other stuff they check during that check up.