First oil change - Yamaha FZ-09 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
post #1 of 6 Old 09-03-2014, 09:55 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Missouri, United States
Posts: 35
First oil change

I did my first oil change last night and obviously started the bike to check for leaks then took it for a ride. The oil light came on twice, I am wondering if anyone else has experienced this as well or if the computer is just confused because the bike was obviously empty before filling with new oil...
Aj2188 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 09-03-2014, 01:20 PM
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Cornwall ON Canada
Posts: 1,074
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aj2188 View Post
I did my first oil change last night and obviously started the bike to check for leaks then took it for a ride. The oil light came on twice, I am wondering if anyone else has experienced this as well or if the computer is just confused because the bike was obviously empty before filling with new oil...

If you replaced the filter, you will need to recheck and add oil. This allows the filter to fill, starting it and revving it a few times and then turning off and allowing oil to settle. This is the point you fill it just enough to get between the 2 lines on the glass.



harrywz is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 09-03-2014, 01:29 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Missouri, United States
Posts: 35
I added some oil to the new filter before putting it on....
Aj2188 is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 Old 09-03-2014, 01:31 PM
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Cornwall ON Canada
Posts: 1,074
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aj2188 View Post
I added some oil to the new filter before putting it on....
Just check the level, you are probably down just a bit and shows up as red light on acceleration.
Bike has to be held straight on a flat surface. If you use a stand, use less oil as the angle makes it look like more.



harrywz is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 09-03-2014, 01:38 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Missouri, United States
Posts: 35
Yea, I just installed spools/sliders so I will be getting my stand shortly. I'm going to take it for a longer ride today and see how she reacts. I used about 2.88 quarts of new oil...
Aj2188 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 09-03-2014, 01:58 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Missouri, United States
Posts: 35
Manual calls for 2.85 with new oil filter so.....
Aj2188 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Yamaha FZ-09 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Completed First Oil Change Freeekonaleesh2 Yamaha FZ-09 Service and Maintenance 8 12-27-2014 08:55 AM
Conventional Oil or Synthetic Oil?? Hoodman FZ-09 General Discussion forum 10 07-23-2014 04:28 PM
Best way to change wheel color? gump Yamaha FZ-09 Appearance & Modifications 21 05-07-2014 01:03 PM
So im going to change my exhaust...! Chromex Yamaha FZ-09 Parts & Accessories 16 05-06-2014 12:06 AM
When is it necessary to change the shocks? Jen FZ-09 General Discussion forum 18 03-28-2014 10:15 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome