Wanting suggestions for fluids... - Yamaha FZ-09 Forum
 1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
post #1 of 16 Old 10-07-2013, 08:59 PM Thread Starter

Wanting suggestions for fluids...

Hello All,

I'm new to owning a bike, yet I've ridden for years. I'm wondering what you all would suggest for engine oil after I reach the first 600mi...also what brand air filter you would recommend.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 Old 10-08-2013, 05:06 PM

Rotella is what i used, it's really good stuff, well worth it. Not sure what grade of oil the FZ09 calls for though.
Marthy likes this.

Ride, eat, sleep...repeat.
post #3 of 16 Old 10-08-2013, 05:27 PM

In the manual the FZ09 will take any oil depending on anticipated ambient temperature range so it is not one of those finicky bikes that is recommended to take only one grade of oil or some weird grade or specifying synthetic. So the baseline oil is Yammalube regular dino 10-40 for most conditions, you can try a different grade if you ride in the desert or arctic.

post #4 of 16 Old 10-09-2013, 02:06 AM

Just FYI, today you can get quality synthetic blends or full synthetic oil at a good price from most local auto supply shops. Compared to non-synthetics, synthetics use to be outrageous but today they are reasonable depending on your source.

In the long run you can save a good bit of money providing your own fluids (specially if you use synthetics) if someone else is doing the service.
post #5 of 16 Old 10-09-2013, 09:38 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_You View Post
Just FYI, today you can get quality synthetic blends or full synthetic oil at a good price from most local auto supply shops. Compared to non-synthetics, synthetics use to be outrageous but today they are reasonable depending on your source.

In the long run you can save a good bit of money providing your own fluids (specially if you use synthetics) if someone else is doing the service.